RSS Feed

Recipe for Rogan Josh Kashmiri Pandit Style

Here is a step-by-step version of this delicious Kashmiri ‘classic’ rogan josh recipe. For a one page summary, click rogan josh recipe.

you can make this delicious Kashmiri rogan josh dish

For this recipe I use:

1 kg diced goat on the bone

diced goat meat left on the bone

First of all, we grind all the spices that we use to marinate our meat.

½ tsp ground Kashmiri chillies

Kashmiri chillies and ground Kashmiri chillies

½ tsp ground cinnamon

Cinnamon sticks and ground cinnamon

½ tsp ground green cardamoms

green cardamoms and ground cardamom

½ tsp ground black cardamoms

black cardamoms

¼ tsp ground cloves

cloves and ground cloves

½ tsp ground black peppercorns

whole and ground peppercorns

½ tsp ground fennel seeds

fennel seeds and ground fennel

I add the marinating spices one at a time.

adding one ground spice at a time

adding another ground spice

Press the spices into the meat, then set aside for a few minutes.

pressing the spices into the meat

Over high heat, heat saucepan for a few moments then add ½ cup vegetable oil.

adding the vegetable oil to the hot pan

Heat the oil until it starts smoking.

Reduce heat and add 1-inch cinnamon stick and 2-4 whole black cardamoms and 4–6 whole green cardamoms.

adding the green cardamoms

Add 6–8 whole cloves and 1 tsp whole peppercorns and increase heat.

heating the whole spices

Add 1 tsp whole fennel seeds and the marinated goat and fold the meat so it is coated with the oil.

adding the marinated goat

Cook until the meat is caramelised.

caramelising the meat

Add 1 tsp ground asafoetida and 1½ tsp dry ginger powder and fold into the meat and cook for 1 minute. Add salt to taste and fold into the meat. Next, add 1½ tbs ground Kashmiri chillies and fold into the meat, followed by ¼ cup rattan jot infusion.

adding rattan jot infused in hot oil

Beat 2 cups whole-milk yoghurt and then add to the pan.

adding the yoghurt

folding the yoghurt into the meat

Then gently fold the yoghurt until it thoroughly coats the meat.

Cover the pan and cook over medium heat for about 1½ hours, or until the meat is cooked and the rogan (red oil) comes to the surface.

the finished product...note the oil has risen to the surface

Serve with boiled, or steamed, Basmati rice and naan bread, if you wish.

For a one page summary of the above, click rogan josh recipe.

About Ajoy Joshi

i've been a chef for over three decades now! i trained in chennai and started off with the taj hotel group. i've owned nilgiri's indian restaurant in sydney for over 15 years. i'm on a mission to dispel the myth that indian food is no more than a 'curry in a hurry'! come with me as i try and educate. indian food is my passion (alongside cricket!) and i'm enjoying exploring the new social media and as well as having published cookery books i'm now moving into videos. simple and easy to follow that don't go on for hours like some Bollywood movies!

22 responses »

  1. What is the rattan jot infusion mixture?? it doesn’t tell how to make it.

    Reply
  2. For Rattan Jot fusion mixture, as stated above, which dried flower to use. Can you please tell the name of grocer who keeps this in Sydney. Should it be found at Indian grocery shop?

    Reply
    • Hello Namrata,
      Good to hear from you.
      Sorry for the delay, have been busy with work.
      You may buy ‘rattan jot’from any reputed grocer on Sydney, try Herbies in Rozelle.
      Happy cooking!!

      Reply
  3. Excellent!!! It turned out almost the way I had at Kashmiri Pandit – my sisters family, except, it didn’t look that red, as I had put 1/3 kashmiri mirch and didn’t have “rattan jot infusion” but instead used some of the paprika powder – degi mirch, mild chilli to replace the colored look of rattan jot infusion. What could be its replacement ? Please suggest.

    Reply
  4. Well, I am a Kashmiri Pandit and we have this every weekend at home. Pretty much like a staple.
    I am glad you are one of the very folks who do this without onion-tomatoes. For some reason, people serve any mutton gravy as roganjosh these days.
    I have never seen my mother or for that matter any of our folks using rattan jot infusion. I think you can do without it as well. For the colour, get ‘kashmiri lal mirch’ powder; easily available in Delhi at least. And if you can, use mustard oil. Nothing beats the flavour of mustard oil in most authentic Indian regional dishes.

    Reply
    • Hello Natasha,
      Thanks for your comments.
      You are right most Kashmiri Pandits do not use rattan jot, however I have used it in this recipe because it was used by this Kashmiri family when we made the dish. The lady did say it was not a requirement but would help add to the color!
      Happy cooking!!!

      Reply
  5. Hi there,

    Excellent!!! This is the 5th Rogan josh recipe I have cooked, and finally, finally, finally , I can say that I will stick with your version.. the only change I made was that I omitted the sabut garam masala in the oil and the ratan jot . Used kashmiri lal mirch powder instead because I could not find any ratan jot. Frying the mutton with the dry rub added a lot of depth to the gravy and the smell of the garam masalas were not too stron this way ..
    My daughter does not eat mutton generally other thar in the keema form … but she licked her bowl clean .. cannot thank you enough, really .
    Excellent directions too….
    Regards,
    Toa

    Reply
  6. Hi Ajoy,
    I live in the UK, so dont get a lot of goat here, however, I tried this recipe with Lamb and must say that it’s the best Rogan Josh that i have made to date, loved it, anyway to my question, I love Kashmiri food, and have been looking on the net for more recipes, noticed that quite a few of them use Kashmiri Basar powder/mix, but I can’t seem to find a recipe for the said mix, Do you have such a recipe? if so would you mind shearing it with a poor pom. Anyway keep up the good work, Your recipes are excellent.

    Les

    Reply
  7. Dear Mr. Joshi,

    I am a foodie and was looking for a perfect rogan josh recipe. Hate to see the ones with tomatoes and onion and garlic. I even have ratan jot. can’t wait to make it.

    Thanks for sharing the recipe.

    Soma

    Reply
  8. Hello,
    I have try this recepie for two times. I never had rogan josh before. I think it came out too strong in spices an also it was lil on sour side. Can we adjust the masala and yogurt content to make it less strong.

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Pandit style Rogan Josh served with Homemade Naan | i2cook

  10. Hi Ajoy
    I live in Los Angeles, USA and this seems to be receipe I was looking for. I have served in Kasmir for 5 years while with Indian Army and we had our Khansama from baramula and use to make excellent Rogan Josh. I am on my way to get on expertise in making malai Kofta, Nargisi Kofta, punjabi kadi, dal makhani oberoi style and now I will your this dish in my menu.
    Thanks
    vinodcol@yahoo.com
    Vinod

    Reply
  11. this recipe is usually very complex, but you taught it in very simple way… without onion it is amazing mutton curry… in North India… Specially UP this is cooked with Onions… but Kasmiri style is amazing

    Reply
  12. I hate to see rogan josh recipes with onions and tamatoes. This is authentic and came out excellent! I found your website by accident. And I have to say, every single recipe looks great. I can’t wait to try them all. Thank You!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 605 other followers

